You choose the career,
together we chart the path.

News and Announcements

Monday, July 20, 2020

Updated July 20, 2020 at 12:00 PM.

We are currently accepting applications for our training programs and Adult Basic Education and English as a Second Language Classes.  

New Students: Interested education and training applicants who want to apply for upcoming programs should please complete an interest form. We will be reinstating our assessment schedule and TEAS testing when we re-open the agency. Interest forms are available at 1199ctraining.org/get-started.

Existing Students: Many classes and programs are being continued online or as limited face-to-face classes. Please remain in touch with your program coordinator about your particular schedule.

Please review the new Student Protocol which you will be required to follow while attending in-person programming at the Training Fund. You will be required to complete a short questionnaire, and program coordinators will conduct virtual orientations via Zoom.

To ensure your safety and ours, we also encourage all students, applicants, partners and others to read the City of Philadelphia's Safer at Home guides, available at https://www.phila.gov/guides/safer-at-home/

Please review the new Student Protocol which you will be required to follow while attending in-person programming at the Training Fund. You will be required to complete a short questionnaire, and program coordinators will conduct virtual orientations via Zoom.


          • District 1199C union members ONLYhttps://1199ctraining.org/MemberIntake
          • ALL OTHER community members: https://1199ctraining.formstack.com/forms/general_intake

Training Fund staff will continue checking their voicemail and email throughout this emergency. You can find contact information for all staff here: https://1199ctraining.org/staff-listings

Dear Training Fund Students, Friends & Members of the 1199C Community,

The Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak has impacted communities all over the world, the United States, Pennsylvania and Philadelphia. We hope that during this time all of your loved ones remain safe and well, and we extend our profound gratitude to the 1199C union members and other health workers putting their lives on the line to care for and heal our friends and neighbors.

The Training Fund program coordinators and instructors have worked hard to convert classes to an online format where possible and made alternate plans where online options were not possible. We are also providing services to union members as staff work remotely from home. Classes will also be extended as necessary to make up course work and clinical experiences to ensure students have all of the necessary knowledge and skills to qualify for program completion and preparation for credentialing examinations.

Moving forward, our challenge will be to continue to deliver high quality programs while maintaining safety as our highest priority for students, staff and visitors. To accomplish this, we will use a combination of traditional and distance learning approaches using online technologies to maintain social distancing guidelines. This will involve some retooling of staff, instructors and students to adapt to the new environment. The agency’s goal is to ensure students can engage fully in their education in a healthy and safe environment.

As always, students with questions should reach out to their program coordinators and/or instructors. Program coordinators can be reached by email as follows:

Addictions and Behavioral Health
Penn State Addictions Counselor
Jefferson (Philadelphia University) Health and Human Services AA Degree
Stephen Ridley – sridley@1199ctraining.org

College and Career Readiness/High School Equivalency/Pre-Nursing 
Michael Westover – mwestover@1199ctraining.org

Computer Classes for Retirees
Jim Keller – jkeller@1199ctraining.org

Culinary Training
Stephanie Webb – swebb@1199ctraining.org
Erika Shearlds-Hill – ehill@1199ctraining.org
Nathaniel Dixon – ndixon@1199ctraining.org 

Direct Support Professional Pre-Apprenticeship
Mark Karcz – mkarcz@1199ctraining.org

Early Childhood Education
CCP Early Childhood Development AA Degree 
Child Development Associate for Child Care Staff
Family Child Care
Teresa Collins – tcollins@1199ctraining.org

English for Speakers of Other Languages
Arlyn Freed – afreed@1199ctraining.org

Emergency Medical Technician
Stephanie Webb – swebb@1199ctraining.org
Erika Shearlds-Hill – ehill@1199ctraining.org
Nathaniel Dixon – ndixon@1199ctraining.org 

GED and Beyond
Roland Williams – rwilliams@1199ctraining.org
Yattah Jones – yjones@1199ctraining.org

Home Health Aide/ESOL and IELCE
Carol Bloom – cbloom@1199ctraining.org

Nurse Aide for Youth
Kristine Scanlon – kkochel@1199ctraining.org
Sherette Campbell – serwin@1199ctraining.org

Opioid Crisis Training and Certified Recovery Specialist
Kehinde  Whetstone – kwhetstone@1199ctraining.org 

Pharmacy Technician
Jim Keller – jkeller@1199ctraining.org 

Practical Nursing
Karen Poles – kpoles@1199ctraining.org
Shona Murphy – smurphy@1199ctraining.org

Roxborough High School "STEAM Scholars"
Brittany Grabois – bgrabois@steppingstonescholars.org 

Vaux High School "STEAM Scholars"
Ellisiah Hall – ehall@1199ctraining.org 

Vocational Skills Training
Behavioral Health Technician
Child Development Associate
Nurse Aide
Dawn Johnson – dwjohnson@1199ctraining.org
Renee Orgill – rorgill@1199ctraining.org
Jewel Crafton – jcrafton@1199ctraining.org

Please be safe and practice good personal hygiene by washing or sanitizing hands, avoid large gatherings and confined spaces, and avoid social interaction altogether if you are sick. For a full list of recommendations for avoiding COVID-19 exposure, please visit The City of Philadelphia’s COVID-19 resource page, http://www.phila.gov/COVID-19

To find free meals and safe spaces for students while schools are closed, you can go to https://www.phila.gov/2020-03-14-find-free-meals-and-safe-spaces-for-students-while-schools-are-closed/ 

Thanks very much for your understanding and patience during this challenging time.  We appreciate your support and send well wishes for your health and safety.

Sincerely yours,

Cheryl Feldman, Executive Director (cfeldman@1199ctraining.org)
District 1199C Training & Upgrading Fund

***

Anyone concerned about COVID-19 should visit the Pennsylvania Department of Health's website for the latest news and advice from our state's scientific authorities: https://www.health.pa.gov/topics/disease/Pages/Coronavirus.aspx

Healthcare and human services workers: PhilaPOSH, the Philadelphia Area Project on Occupational Safety & Health, has information and resources to help you stay safe and protect your OSHA rights at work, available at https://philaposh.org/coronavirus-resources/

VIEW ALL
Administration