You choose the career,
together we chart the path.

COVID-19 (Coronavirus)

Updated March 16, 2020 at 9:30 AM.

All District 1199C Training & Upgrading Fund classes and activities are suspended until further notice. The Training Fund's offices and classrooms are closed to students and visitors. Classes are online only.

Training Fund staff will continue checking their voicemail and email throughout this emergency. You can find contact information for all staff here: https://1199ctraining.org/staff-listings

Dear Training Fund Students, Friends & Members of the 1199C Community,

The Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak is impacting communities all over the world, the United States, Pennsylvania and Philadelphia. We hope that during this time each student’s household is well and safe. During this time, staff continue to work remotely and are accessible to students.

Governor Wolf’s directive to close all nonessential businesses remains in effect, in addition to Mayor Kenney’s stay-at-home order. Therefore, in order to create a safe environment, District 1199C Training & Upgrading Fund will continue to suspend all classes through April 30, 2020. Given the uncertainty of COVID-19, this date, if needed, will be extended based upon both federal, state and local authorities’ recommendations. The agency’s mission is to ensure students can engage fully in their education in a healthy and safe environment.

Again, to support our student’s work, program coordinators, case managers, and instructors will utilize virtual learning experiences. District 1199C Training & Upgrading Fund is committed to supporting student’s educational and career goals.

We are also prepared to extend classes to make up course work and clinical experiences to ensure students have all of the necessary knowledge and skills to qualify for graduation and preparation for credentialing examinations..

Students with questions should reach out to their program coordinators and/or instructors. Program coordinators can be reached by email as follows:

Addictions and Behavioral Health
Penn State Addiction Counselor
Jefferson (Philadelphia University) Health and Human Services AA Degree
Stephen Ridley – sridley@1199ctraining.org

College and Career Readiness/High School Equivalency/Pre-Nursing 
Michael Westover – mwestover@1199ctraining.org

Computer Classes for Retirees
Jim Keller – jkeller@1199ctraining.org

Culinary Training
Stephanie Webb – swebb@1199ctraining.org
Erika Shearlds-Hill – ehill@1199ctraining.org
Nathaniel Dixon – ndixon@1199ctraining.org 

Direct Support Professional Pre-Apprenticeship
Mark Karcz – mkarcz@1199ctraining.org

Early Childhood Education
CCP Early Childhood Development AA Degree 
Child Development Associate for Child Care Staff
Family Child Care
Teresa Collins – tcollins@1199ctraining.org

English for Speakers of Other Languages
Arlyn Freed – afreed@1199ctraining.org

Emergency Medical Technician
Stephanie Webb – swebb@1199ctraining.org
Erika Shearlds-Hill – ehill@1199ctraining.org
Nathaniel Dixon – ndixon@1199ctraining.org 

GED and Beyond
Roland Williams – rwilliams@1199ctraining.org
Yattah Jones – yjones@1199ctraining.org

Home Health Aide/ESOL and IELCE
Carol Bloom – cbloom@1199ctraining.org

Nurse Aide for Youth
Kristine Scanlon – kkochel@1199ctraining.org
Sherette Campbell – serwin@1199ctraining.org

Opioid Crisis Training and Certified Recovery Specialist
Kehinde  Whetstone – kwhetstone@1199ctraining.org 

Pharmacy Technician
Jim Keller – jkeller@1199ctraining.org 

Practical Nursing
Karen Poles – kpoles@1199ctraining.org
Shona Murphy – smurphy@1199ctraining.org

Roxborough High School "STEAM Scholars"
Brittany Grabois – bgrabois@steppingstonescholars.org 

Vaux High School "STEAM Scholars"
Ellisiah Hall – ehall@1199ctraining.org 

Vocational Skills Training
Behavioral Health Technician
Child Development Associate
Nurse Aide
Dawn Johnson – dwjohnson@1199ctraining.org
Renee Orgill – rorgill@1199ctraining.org
Jewel Crafton – jcrafton@1199ctraining.org

Interested education and training applicants who want to apply for upcoming training programs should please complete an interest form. We will be reinstating our assessment schedule and TEAS testing when we re-open the agency. Interest forms are available at:
          • District 1199C union members ONLYhttps://1199ctraining.org/MemberIntake
          • 
ALL OTHER community members: https://1199ctraining.formstack.com/forms/interests

Please be safe and practice good personal hygiene by washing or sanitizing hands, avoid large gatherings and confined spaces, and avoid social interaction altogether if you are sick. For a full list of recommendations for avoiding COVID-19 exposure, please visit The City of Philadelphia’s COVID-19 resource page, http://www.phila.gov/COVID-19

To find free meals and safe spaces for students while schools are closed, you can go to https://www.phila.gov/2020-03-14-find-free-meals-and-safe-spaces-for-students-while-schools-are-closed/ 

Thanks very much for your understanding and patience during this challenging time.  We appreciate your support and send well wishes for your health and safety.

Sincerely yours,

Cheryl Feldman, Executive Director (cfeldman@1199ctraining.org)
District 1199C Training & Upgrading Fund

***

Anyone concerned about COVID-19 should visit the Pennsylvania Department of Health's website for the latest news and advice from our state's scientific authorities: https://www.health.pa.gov/topics/disease/Pages/Coronavirus.aspx

Healthcare and human services workers: PhilaPOSH, the Philadelphia Area Project on Occupational Safety & Health, has information and resources to help you stay safe and protect your OSHA rights at work, available at https://philaposh.org/coronavirus-resources/

Administration